top of page

Are you even in a frat if you don't own a Patagonia??

Because the chemical engineering program at CMU is very strict and everything is accumulative, I had to work closely with my coordinators to chose classes at UNL that would cover the appropriate topics for my 3rd year fall semester. We decided that I would take the first 7 weeks of "Energy Transfer", first 8 of "Physical Chemistry", and last 5 of "Advanced Physical Chemistry" (so basically a bit of a mess). The semester, however, is 14 weeks long; meaning I have a week break at week 9. A whole week without class! What should I do? Travel of course!! But wait... nobody else has this awkward gap in the middle of their semester. Everyone I know here still has class or is working like a normal person. So who do I travel with? Do I travel alone? Is that even safe? Won't I be super lonely? How do I chose where to go and what to do when I'm there? How do I make flight, hotel, and activity reservations all by myself? (Answer: I have no idea)

But then I asked myself one last question: won't I be super bored if I stay in Santa Fe the entire week? (Answer: hell yes!)

So yeah, my desire to simply not be bored made me commit to make travel plans. This may not have been one of my most justified decisions but, hey, its getting me out to see more of the world, and how can you argue against that?

I decided I would travel into Argentina's Patagonia region, visiting the cities of Bariloche and Calafate. San Carlos de Bariloche is a city located next to the large glacier lake of Nahuel Huapi and is surrounded by the Andes Mountains. The city is known for its Swiss alpine-style architecture and its chocolate. El Calafate is a smaller town, located toward the south end of the Patagonian Ice Field and is home to the massive Perito Moreno Glacier.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t start my trip with significant anxiety. I woke up at 5am, heart pounding and mind racing. Am I really taking a week long trip by myself? At 20? In Argentina? But all anxieties aside, I was excited for the adventure.

I arrived late into Barloche (after one cancelled flight and another delayed), so I didn’t really get to see the landscape. I got to my hostel and passed out in my bed. In the morning, I got up, brushed my teeth and walked out into the dining area to this view. My jaw literally dropped. Later in the day, I walked down to the lake. As I descended the stairs to the lakefront, a tear actually rolled down my face. The moment was so perfect, the air was so fresh, the sky was so blue. I couldn’t help but get emotional. And let me tell you, the pictures I took get nowhere close to capturing the beauty of this area.

Traveling alone actually wasn’t scary at all. Staying in a hostel was definitely a great decision, for it provided me with a sense of community and belonging, even in a completely unfamiliar place. There were no lonely or dry moments. Everyone I met was so friendly, so helpful, and so interesting.

I spent most of my time in Bariloche just hanging out by the lake or in the center eating chocolate and drinking coffee. One night I went out for a beer with some people from my hostel and we spent the rest of the night playing cards until the woman from the front desk had to tell us it was quiet hours. One day I decided to take a hike in an area called Llao Llao, but once I got up there, I was told that all the trails were closed due to extreme winds (100km/hr) — a bummer for sure, but I tried to make the best of it. If nothing else, the hour bus ride was scenic and it was peaceful to ride alone, listening to my music, and watching the rain drops race across the windows.

In Calafate, I decided I would take the 3 hour (each way) bus ride to an area called El Chaltén. I spent the day hiking and hanging out in the quaint little town that looked and felt like something out of story book. As I was descending the mountain, I found my face starting to feel a little sore. It was sore because I was smiling so much. The views were spectacular, the weather was perfect, I was doing something adventurous and new. What is not to love!? The next day I went to the glacier. Another amazing day in terms of weather and beautiful views.

This trip was one of the most memorable of my life. I don’t regret a single decision I made because every decision was a result of pure and personal desire. I didn’t have to compromise plans with anyone. I didn’t have to accommodate. I had no obligations. Everything I did was for me.

Some notes on mindfulness:

  1. Practice being alone. You will never feel comfortable with others until you are comfortable with yourself.

  2. Be aware of your feelings, physical and mental. Know your body and your mind. Listen to when it talks to you and take action to respect it by giving it what it needs.

  3. Fear is good and keeps you away from danger, but don’t always avoid challenging it. It can hold you back from a phenomenal experience.


bottom of page